Posted by: Brooke Hukill | January 31, 2008

Hello world!

img_0418.jpg

I feel like I am back in college and I have an assignment I’ve been dreading for some time now.  I don’t know what I am doing here.  I hardly know or understand what a blog even is.  But my computer-savy, businessman of a husband tells me I need to do this.  I am not sure when he thinks I am going to find time for this with 4 children, his real estate business that I assist with when I can and just keeping up with the cleaning and cooking.  But…here I go.  Get ready to laugh, cause I am pretty sure I will make a fool of myself sooner or later.  (Probably the sooner, rather than the later!)  Here’s what I’m thinking I’ll do, I will let you (whoever you might be???) know what’s going on in the kitchen.  Sometimes at home cooking for my family and sometimes at a recent cooking show.  I will share the disasters and successes.  And hopefully some tips I come up with along the way.  I guess my goal is to help other moms like me rediscover the kitchen and cooking a home cooked meal for their families, but in a reasonable amount of time.  I don’t have time, I have 4 children, but it is important to me to have a meal with my family every night.  So I am learning and researching new ways and recipes to achieve this in as little time as possible.  That is what I hope to share with you.  I can’t begin to tell you the blessings I reap every night at the dinner table.  Our 16 year old son actually comes out of his “I’m too cool” shell and seems to remind of us of that sweet young boy he was and give us a peek into what a great young man he will be.  I get to see my one and only daughter be so maternal and loving with her younger brothers as she helps me get everyone ready.  I am reminded of how quickly time goes by as I watch our 6 year old son learn to cut his own meat.  And I see what a miracle life is as I watch our 1 year old son, who almost didn’t make it into this world, learn about new foods each day.  I only wish every woman could feel the kind of love I feel everyday from my husband.  I enjoy how he praises my new efforts in the kitchen and with my new business.  Even though he didn’t eat much of my over-salted homemade sloppy joes the other night.  I do still love him!  So here we go…I sure hope I’m ready for this, and I pray I can laugh at myself and my mistakes too!  (I have a tendency to take things too seriously sometimes.)

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

