Posted by: Brooke Hukill | February 5, 2008

Quick and Easy family recipe for Chili

2585_100.jpg2583_100.jpg2758_100.jpgpc_image_chili.jpg

Okay, first I pray that my mother-in-law won’t be too mad at me for sharing her wonderful quick and easy secret recipe.  But this is all about sharing, kinda like family right?  Now onto this fantastic recipe and all it’s little tricks that make it a perfect last minute warm meal.

Ingredients:

1 can kidney beans

1 can chili beans

1 can Rotel diced tomatos and green chilis (or I recently tried the Rotel chili fixins, that was good too!)

1 8 oz. can tomato sauce                                                                      

1 pound lean ground beef                                                                            

1/2 small or medium onion, chopped     

Other optional ingredients you may want to try, Corn (you’ll want to drain this but it adds a great texture and pop of color), Black beans, diced tomatos, or my favorite….tabasco!                                                 

You’ll want to start off by chopping your onions.  I personally will only chop onions with my Pampered Chef Food Chopper.  I hate the smell of onions and cry enough just watching my babies grow up, I don’t need any help crying from any stinky onions!  My mother gave me a food chopper that was probably from a kitchen outlet store a few years ago and the first time I used the Pampered Chef version, I threw out the one my mom gave me.  It really is amazing and can be used for so many things, besides that I like to bang on it as stress relief at the end of the day!  It has been a best seller with Pampered Chef for many years.  Okay, back to the recipe…

Next you need to season and brown your ground beef and onions.  The best tool for this is the Pampered Chef Mix ‘n Chop.  It is a great tool for those recipes that you want your ground beef chopped fine.  It eliminates those big chunks in your spaggetti or chili and almost doubles the portion.  I even used it on chicken for quesadillas last week and it worked great on that too.

Drain the grease off of your meat and then add the canned ingredients.  No need to drain any of the canned items, just open and dump it all in!  Then simmer on the stove until warm or put in the crockpot on low all day, or high for an hour or two.  This is a great recipe to freeze, so you may want to double or triple your ingredients and freeze a couple of meals for another time!  This is a great trick for those last minute decisions on what to have or when your running late to a baseball game like us!!!   

Responses

  1. I made this for dinner tonight! (a rendition anyway) I always keep these ingredients on hand because it’s so easy and SO good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

