Posted by: Brooke Hukill | November 9, 2008

I miss my little footsteps in the house…

I had some major dental work done earlier this week.  And to help me recover we sent all 4 kiddos away for the end of the week and weekend.  It is normal to have the older 3 gone for a few days at their “part time parents”.  And we have kid around for the last 21 months that “monkey” needs a part time parent so we can have a little time to ourselves.  But after all of them being gone for a few days we are going crazy!  Literally.  I am sure the pain meds have a little to do with it but last night as I was trying to fall asleep, I swear I could hear “monkeys” little foot prints running in our bedroom with a noisy toy.  I sat up looking for him to realize ‘wait he’s at Nana’s’ ???  Hubby was watching TV and kept turning it down, worried he would wake “monkey”, you know the “monkey” that wasn’t there!  So as much as we think we want a break from them…we really adore every moment with them and are truly lost without them.  I haven’t decided if this is a good thing or a bad thing.  I love being a mom, but I don’t want to be that mom that is only defined by her children.  But I am feeling blessed that I have such a wonderful family that I miss them terribly when they are not around.  Which reminds me that our oldest will be leaving for college next year…and here come the tears again!

Leave a Reply

Categories

