Posted by: Brooke Hukill | December 6, 2008

This years Holiday Story

With the holidays being on my list of things I don’t like anymore we are changing it up a bit this year.  I would love to take all the credit for how this year will hopefully plan out but I believe it was a provoking of the Holy Spirit and the path he laid in front of us this year.  Somewhere between the economy scares, my hubby being a Realtor and the fact that I am a stay at home mom who sells Pampered Chef on the side to make ends meet we just can’t afford the typical Christmas this year.   With 4 kids and everyone else we usually buy for in our extended families its just not worth putting ourselves in debt over what we have made Christmas.  So… this year will be different.

We will not be buying gifts.  Nope, not even for our kids.  We will however in the spirit of giving be making gifts.  I am hosting a baking show for my friends and clients tomorrow in my home to teach some of these yummy and cute treats that I will be giving as our family gifts this year.  Knowing that many are in the same situation as us, trying to cut back on the spending.  To keep it cute and affordable I went to the dollar store and bought some very cute and affordable Christmas tins to deliver the gifts in and will include a note from the kiddos about their thoughts on the true meaning of Christmas.

Now, since we are not getting our children any gifts at all and with all the talk of the world going back into a depression I want my kids to be mindful that although times are tough right now it could be so much worse and we still have a lot to be thankful for.  I don’t want them to think the world around them is caving in, it’s just changing, and honestly for the better.  There are people that are still less fortunate than us and we are going to do what we can to help them.  In the past we have made monetary donations for these things but this year we are giving something that in this house is even more precious and all we have to give this year…our time.  We will be serving together as a family at a local rescue/mission center.

I pray that this is a life changing year for my family.  They truly have all that they need so I am hoping that in this year of changes they see the difference between needs and wants.  And that somehow we will find the true meaning of Christmas for our family, remembering and celebrating the life of our Savior…Jesus.  Knowing that He will always provide our needs will once and for all calm our sense of worry during the talks of our new economy.

Do Not Worry

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

Luke 12:22-25

Responses

  1. Amen.
    Bless you and yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

