Posted by: Brooke Hukill | January 2, 2009

You don’t see this anymore!

jax-carrot2

In my efforts to cut back our grocery bill even more – an ongoing effort with a growing family of 6 – I bought whole carrots recently.  You know, the only kind we had when we were kids.  It just dawned on me that I was buying pre-cut, peeled baby carrots for the convenience and not paying attention to the cost, so the last trip to the grocery store I purchased a “bunch” of carrots.  While preparing dinner last night, one of my kiddos came into the kitchen and said “What’s that?” with a little bit of disgust.  I was astounded!  But then… when would they have seen a real carrot?  Everyone buys for convenience these days, and for so long we have been a part of that trend as well.  They were convenient and for my oldest child the only vegetable he will eat.  (At least that’s what he thinks!)

After comparing prices I found that I was paying a dollar more for the same amount of carrots, and on average I was probably buying one bag a week.  So I just saved us $52.00 for the coming year!

Let’s jump on the Frugal train and keep finding ways to save in our kitchens.  This is just a place to start and I would love to hear some of the ways you save!  I am even contemplating the idea of starting a veggie garden this year.  I would like to think that it would be a way to save and teach my children a thing or two in the process.  We’ll see if I can find the time though!

Responses

  1. kids are funny.

    Yep buy the bunches if you can’t grow your own.

    That is the cutest little boy…next to my grandsons…;)

  2. Great tip!! didn’t even think of that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

